LA: Foo Foo Tei

Unlucky for me, bad weather follows wherever I go. However, lucky for me, I have something close to my house that combats this bad weather. Enter Foo Foo Tei. Rain Rain Go Away, I would actually preferred it if you stayed. what? Yes, having a delicious steaming bowl of ramen while peering out into a rainy dreary landscape is bliss to me. Not the prettiest of fellows, but definitely one of the heartiest. I ordered the Nanchatte Tonkotsu Ramen (#17) with extra corn. One thing that makes me dislike ramen, then let’s say pho, is that there’s only a couple slices of the delicious Chashu. Give me more! Anyways, the ramen is amazing, and it won’t break the bank at less than $7. The creamy broth with the snappy sweet corn and al dente ramen is an orgasmic delight. Foo Foo Tei, I wish you were next door right now. I would do dirty things.My friend had the Seafood Ramen ($16) which is an exact replica of the Nanchatte, but has some extra Finding Nemo characters in there as well. You also have to be out of your mind to get the Kae-Dama (extra noodles) or larger bowl.

We ordered the Pan Fried Beef and Vegetables as a side. The beef had the tender texture of being braised, but the strong flavor of being pan fried. They should rename the dish to sukiyaki instead.Finally, we also ordered the Grilled Blue Mackerel on the side. The whole time, I was actually trying to pretend that it was the Miso Black Cod from Ippudo. The Mackerel was very simply put together, some salt and pepper and then grilled. Very clean and delicate, but my palate was craving more flavor.

Foo Foo Tei Scores:
Food: 8/10 – The dishes were all very amazing, but came short of perfect because I could always come up with a restaurant that made it better.

Restaurant Environment: 4/10 – Take away a couple of Japanese decorations and the Manga shelf in the front, and you have yourself a hole in the wall Mexican taco joint.

Service: 7/10 – Very average service, order my dish, bring my dish, collect my money.

Value: 8/10 – I was debating if I should value Los Angeles restaurants differently than NY restaurants, I decided not to – which may have saved Foo Foo Tei.

Overall: 7.5/10 – The desolate location and lackluster decor do not take away from one of the best Ramen houses in LA.

Leave a Reply

