LA: Father’s Office

Everyone’s favorite burger joint in Los Angeles (sans In n Out) finally finds a place in my blog. Hey! I was waiting for that table!

First thing’s first. Grab a beer and FIND A TABLE! Don’t be embarrassed to breath down the hipster’s neck, or help him chew his burger faster with your glaring eyes. Just make him feel as uncomfortable as possible so that the awkwardness levels causes him to get up and leave. Then kindly unknowingly ask with a giant smile “Oh, were you guys done?” Mission Success. Take note that the next waiting wave will be implementing the same tactic, hold steady, you earned this damn table.

Now it’s finally time to get grubbing. Looking at their menu might cause you some confusion. A brewery that serves items that I can barely pronounce. Blasphemy! Let’s order something that I understand, Burger. If you chose that then congratulations my friend, you have just made one of the best decisions of your life. Let me show you why.

If for some reason you choose not to indulge yourself in one of Father’s Office unique brews, I would suggest getting the Ginger Ale (which according to Fever-tree’s website is served at all the top restaurants in the world, including El Bulli and Fat Duck). Screw Seagrams and Canada Dry, this stuff is legit and what ginger ale should taste like, smooth and naturally sweet. While waiting for our other friends to show up, my friend and I shared an order of Roasted Bone Marrow. Stupid me, I didn’t place the aromatics on the baguette with the bone marrow, which caused the dish to be a little flavorless. Actually, it’s not my fault that they hid them under the baguettes. The bone marrow is decent, but it’s not what I’m here for.First a little pit stop. If you don’t do so already, please get an order of these Sweet Potato Fries with Garlic and Blue Cheese Aioli to go with your  burger. Not only are they wonderfully delicious, but they’re apparently good for you as well. Be sure to ask for extra sauce, because that sucker goes quick.Heaven has arrived! The Pièce de résistance. I’m so excited that I’m going to come up with a haiku for you, Office Burger.

Flawless Construction
Toasted Bun, Juicy Patty
Get In My Tummy

What can I say that hasn’t already been done by that picture? Let me paint you a picture. A perfectly seasoned medium-rare burger patty created out of dry aged beef serves as the centerpiece. Next, a combination of Gruyere and Matag Blue Cheese contribute a sweet and sharp attribute that piques your interest in every bite. Then, an amazing hodgepodge of caramelized onions and applewood bacon evolves into a heavenly compote that supplies the extraordinary flavor that makes the Office Burger unique. On top you find a bed of peppery arugula that almost seasons the burger while fortifying its magnificent body. Finally, the warm toasted baguette provides a textural crunch while still acting as a soft sponge absorbing all the unbelievable juices from the patty.

Shit. I just drooled on my laptop’s keyboard.

Father’s Office Scores:
Food: 8.5/10 – This would’ve been a 9 if it wasn’t for the bland and under-seasoned bone marrow.

Restaurant Environment: 6/10 – I hate having to find my own seat.

Service: 6/10 – I hate having to find my own seat. Someone find it for me.

Value: 6.5/10 – Father’s Office is near the pricey end of the spectrum, but it won’t bankrupt you just yet.

Overall: 7.5/10 – Once you get past the frustration of getting seated, the burger more than makes up for the trouble.

Leave a Reply

