Crif Dog

I never understood why hot dogs became synonymous with New York, never really had a good one here yet. Gray’s Papaya, Papaya Dog, whatever combination of the words Gray’s, Papaya and Dog have come up short. Actually, what I’m really craving is..

Anybody wanna take an impromptu trip to Chile with me just for hot dogs?

One day around St. Marks, I was craving a snack. What better than a simple hot dog. What better than the highly touted hot dogs at Crif Dog.

The entrance of both Crif Dog and the now highly public speakeasy, PDT (Please Don’t Tell). After you fight through the crowd of party people trying to fit into the small phone booth to reach their precious bar, you stumble into the diner-esque eating area of Crif Dog.My friend ordered the simple New Yorker with Mustard.Sorry for the bad picture, I was too excited to take a good one. Behold the Chihuahua, an all-beef Hot Dog wrapped in Bacon, topped with Avocados and Sour Cream. I was also craving Tater-Tots (which I totally should’ve topped with chili and cheese). Everything about this hot dog screams perfection. I love bacon wrapped hot dogs, I love avocado, I love sour cream, but I don’t love this hot dog. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it just doesn’t come together and seems to be missing something. Oh how much I want to go to Chile.

Crif Dog Scores:
Food: 6.5/10 – Maybe it would taste better after a night of binge drinking next door.

Restaurant Environment: 4/10 – I loathe crowds of people, especially when most of them are there for something else.

Service: 8/10 -Maybe it was the start of her shift, but the employee was full of spunk and was genuinely charming.

Value: 4/10 – Novelty priced hot dogs, without that Novelty Hot Dog Taste.

Overall: 6/10

Leave a Reply

