Fette Sau

Williamsburg, Brooklyn has started to assume the role of being the best place to grab a bite in New York. For some reason, even though I knew about all the deliciously wonderful food, I never found myself east of the East River all too often. After a recent visit to Fette Sau, Billysburg may start to become my new favorite eating locale. How can you not love a placeĀ  named “fat pig” in French (edit: it’s German)?When you enter the dining area, you’re completely overwhelmed with the sense that you’re no longer in New York and that you’re simply within a dream. If I planted an Inception in your mind that this entire eating experience took place in Kansas, would you accept that reality? This is my ideal wallpaper, covered with labeled butchered meats. How awesome would it be, if it was like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and you could lick and taste the meat. Drool.Fette Sau is equipped with a rotating menu, so basically the meat that you can order for the night is based on luck. But trust me when I say, everything is marvelous. To order, you approach a tiny counter with a man taking orders on how many pounds of which meat you would like to have, butcher style. He weighs out your meat, throws it on a sheet pan, and you’re on your way.I’m terribly sorry for the horrific pictures. As many of you know, I’m an over-passionate food fanatic. And when I literally laid eyes upon the cornucopia of deliciousness, my mind had gone into a frenzy. The spread contains from top to bottom clockwise, Burnt Ends Baked Beans, Hand Pulled Berkshire Shoulder, Spicy Berkshire Sausage, Berkshire Pork Belly (Bacon), Berkshire St Louis Style Pork Ribs, Dante’s German Potato Salad, and Boneless Beef Ribs. They’re served with a mountain of dinner rolls and bottles and bottles of BBQ sauce. The epitome of food coma or the “itis.” This picture may send Bourdain into cardiac arrest. Every single piece of meat was seasoned and cooked to perfection. There wasn’t a single bite nor a single second that I wasn’t entranced in utter euphoria. I was in BBQ heaven.The Pork Belly is peeping out to say hi. So tender, so unctuous, so flavorful. The pork sausages were some of the best I’ve had, with the harmonious snap of their casing contained in every bite. The spicy heat that its packed with slowly creeps up on you and leaves you wanting more. I call it the “Flamin Hot Cheetos Phenomena.” Where if something is both equally spicy and delicious, you can’t help but continue eating to combat the heat. If you asked me what my favorite meat of the day was, I would probably have gone with the Boneless Beef Ribs. Now usually, I’m not a huge fan of beef ribs. But these badasses were succulent, juicy, and laced with flavor. Oh, by the way, did I ever mention that you can order beer by the gallon here? Bravo, bravo. Standing ovation.

Fette Sau Scores:
Food: 9/10 – I think it’s because I’m a sucker for BBQ.

Restaurant Environment: 8/10 – I love the outdoor seating, and the backyard BBQ feel. The mosquitoes buzzing around the obnoxiously drunk individuals added to the flair.

Service: 7.5/10 – Even though it’s cafeteria style and you find open seating. The people working behind the counter were genuine and helpful.

Value: 8/10 – Stuff your face as well as getting enough left overs to feed me for 2 days straight. That’s value baby. At around $20 per person its a steal for New York City, but for Brooklyn? We’ll see.

Overall: 9/10

One response to “Fette Sau

  1. I like how the name of the restaurant is also a play on “fatso.” Well done.

Leave a Reply

