Soba-ya

After my 1 day adventure in Connecticut, it’s time to bring things back to New York City. I was feeling a bit under the weather so I decided to head over to East Village to grab some warm soba noodles at Soba-Ya.Luckily enough, my friend and I were able to get here early enough to nab a seat without having to wait. The traditional Japanese decor keeps me excited knowing that I’m in for a good bowl of soba. First up, was a Yuzu Infused Soy Cured Cod. The cod was oily yet light, and full of flavor. I always find it entertaining that something so simple is usually better than the complex fish dishes developed by the “Western” cultures. The Tempura Soba is your basic pairing of warm soba and Soba-Ya’s selection of tempura pieces: shrimp, shiso, and shishito. Since I needed a steaming bowl of Hot Soba, I ordered the Nishin, which has the addition of a Broiled Nishin Herring Fish. Personally, I found the fish a bit overwhelming and do prefer the cod. However, the funny thing is, the mellowness of the broth and noodles helped quell the intense fish flavor. The soba noodles are out of this world. Perfectly cooked, and a bit “al-dente.”

Soba-Ya Scores:
Food: 8.5/10 – I’m just a sucker for Japanese food, especially soba. If a place can do a good cod, I’ll be there.

Restaurant Environment: 7/10 – Although I do enjoy your everyday traditional Japanese decor, that’s exactly what it is, everyday and a bit overused.

Service: 7.5/10 – They were always attentive and eager to help, but I couldn’t help but feel being rushed so they can get a quicker turn around.

Value: 6.5/10 – Not the cheapest noodles in the world, $20 for the herring soba?

Overall: 7.5/10

Bonus:After your delicious meal at Soba-ya, head next door to Cha-an and grab some delicious Black Sesame Creme Brulee, and a delicious cup of your favorite tea. The one pictured just so happened to be a smooth darjeeling.

Leave a Reply

