Las Vegas: Postrio

A recent weekend jetset to Vegas to celebrate the birthdays of two of my best friends (Mr. Aaron Hsu and www.zooshoo.com CEO, Jason Hsu) presented an opportunity to indulge in the fine cuisine Vegas had to offer. However, due to the sheer size of the party as well as other personal factors, finding a reservation for that perfect restaurant somehow always eluded us. However, we did manage to score a simple reservation at Wolfgang Puck’s casual bistro, Postrio. I’m not going to lie, the 20% off coupon for being a guest made the choice tremendously easier. The starter bread is paired with a nice olive tapenade. Simple, but refreshingly different. The Puree of Sweet Corn Soup with Roasted Corn and a Black Pepper Creme Fraiche, was thick and creamy. They could’ve just called it a creamed corn soup, because that’s all it was.As an appetizer I started with the Salt and Pepper Rock Calamari and Rock Shrimp which is married with Fresno Chilis and a Sweet Thai Chili Sauce. I would have to say that I do prefer the sweet and sour flavor profiles added by the Chili Sauce compared to your traditional marinara. However, maybe it was just me and the time I spent passing it around and trying to feed everyone got the dish cold, but it was actually pretty mundane. The other appetizer that was ordered was a Trio of Sausages with three different mustards served with Roasted Peppers and a Baby Mache. Maybe it’s because I haven’t developed a taste for fancy sausages yet, but I would take the sausages served with garlic gloves on the streets of Taiwan, over this, any day of the week. I did try a bite of everybody’s dish and I’m sorry if it got a bit excessive and intrusive. But I wanted to be a good little blogger and make sure I sampled everything before I critiqued it. The Fresh Linguini is served with a bed of Manila Clams and tossed with Garlic, Chili and Parsley. A very simple and clean dish. The linguini was cooked al dente, but I do prefer something that packs a bigger punch flavor-wise. The so called Housemade Scialatielli Pasta with Beef and Sausage Bolognese with Basil and shaved Pecorino Cheese, or as my friend called it, “Chef Boyarde,” was a simple meat sauce pasta with a jazzed up name. Although I am a sound epicure of a good bolognese, I did enjoy the linguini more this time. I do believe this is a half plate of the Seafood Bouillabaisse, which is basically a seafood stew. The dish is served with Tortelloni, Clams, Mussels, Calamari, Shrimp, Bay Scallops, and a pinch of Saffron. A bit salty, but hey, it is a taste of the ocean. A serving of the House Made Spinach Lasagna is doused in the same Beef and Sausage Bolognese as the pasta and paired with a nutty Parmigiano Reggiano. Although very similar to the bolognese, I would order this a million times over the regular pasta. Maybe it’s the fresh taste of the spinach , but it was actually a very simple yet delicious lasagna. The Atlantic Salmon is presented over a bed of Roasted Patty Pan Squash, some Fennel, and a warm Tomato Vinaigrette. Bland, bland, bland. But hey, that’s why you order salmon right? The salmon they serve at Whole Foods is a fraction of the price, take away the flair of the unique ingredients, and you’ll have yourself the same dish. I’m here to save you money people. Pesto Marinated Shrimp with Goat Cheese, Sun Dried Tomatoes, Rapini, and some fresh Basil. Sounds good right? Meh. The Steamed Black Mussels are cooked with a White Wine and Garlic, and served with a Giant Sourdough Brick with a layer of Bearnaise Sauce. The mussels were fresh and done cleanly, but the Sourdough Toast was just a joke with the heavy buttery bearnaise, unless your name is Paula Deen. Every bite resulted in taking a year off your lifespan. Next up, was a Pancetta Wrapped Meatloaf over a soft bed of Potato Puree and Mushroom Gravy while stacked high with Buttermilk Onion Rings. I’ve tasted cardboard that had more flavor than those onion rings. The meatloaf was far from spectacular as well.Finally comes my dish. The Alaskan Halibut with White Corn Succotash with Wild Mushrooms, Cherry Tomato Relish, and a Sweet Corn Nage. The actual Halibut was dry, but I guess that helped soak up the flavor from the Succotash, which I absolutely enjoyed. The dish was definitely a clean summer dish that was easy on the palette.

Postrio Scores:
Food: 7/10 –  The food here could honestly be characterized by one word, average.

Restaurant Environment: 8/10 – Being in the Grand Canal shops of the Venetian and that sense of a lighted open environment helped cast an illusion that we were dining outdoors at 3pm, when it was actually closer to 9.

Service: 7/10 – Maybe I enjoy being pampered in Vegas, but I didn’t even seem to notice the waiters, a bad thing? perhaps.

Value: 7/10 – At around $20 a dish, it’s a fair price to pay.

Overall: 7/10

Leave a Reply

